NEW HAVEN PALESTINE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the City of New Haven advocates for the safety, dignity, freedom, and equality of all people, regardless of race, ethnicity, nationality, or religion; and

WHEREAS, all human life is precious, and the New Haven Board of Alders calls upon its elected officials and residents to protect the lives of civilians and stand against indiscriminate and unlawful violence; and

WHEREAS, as of November 27th, approximately twelve hundred Israelis, and more than twenty thousand Palestinians in Gaza – of whom more than eight thousand are children – have been killed since October 7th; and

WHEREAS, United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres has described the situation in Gaza as a "crisis in humanity", finding that "[g]round operations by the Israel Defense Forces and continued bombardment are hitting civilians, hospitals, refugee camps, mosques, churches and UN facilities — including shelters" leading to the "unparalleled and unprecedented" killing of Palestinian civilians, and United Nations human rights experts and legal scholars have raised the alarm about the risk of genocide in Gaza; and

WHEREAS, approximately 1.7 million Palestinians in Gaza have been displaced, and 2.2 million require urgent humanitarian assistance; and

WHEREAS, Israel is denying Palestinians in Gaza access to vital services such as electricity, clean water, food, and medical care and treatment; and

WHEREAS, approximately 1.8 million dollars in federal tax money collected from New Haven residents goes to the Israeli military; and

WHEREAS, on October 26th, the United Nations General Assembly, in a near unanimous vote, called for an immediate and sustained humanitarian ceasefire; and

WHEREAS, international organizations including the World Health Organization and the International Labour Organization, and major human rights groups such as Amnesty International and the International Rescue Committee have called for an immediate and sustained humanitarian ceasefire; and

WHEREAS, the City of New Haven, as a United Nations Peace Messenger City, has pledged to contribute effectively and in close collaboration with the United Nations to the building of peace worldwide; and

WHEREAS, the New Haven Board of Alders recognizes that the current crisis takes place within a long history and affirms that, for a pathway to lasting peace and justice to be developed, the root causes of the crisis need to be addressed; and

WHEREAS, the New Haven Board of Alders condemns the recent rise in anti-Palestinian, anti-Arab, anti-Semitic, Islamophobic, and other racist attacks in our city and across the nation, including: the murder of six-year-old Wadea Al-Fayoume in Plainfield, Illinois; the shooting of three Palestinian students, one a Connecticut resident, Hisham Awartani, Kinnan Abdalhamid, and Tahseen Ahmed in Burlington, Vermont; and the doxxing of elected officials, professors, students, journalists, and others speaking truth to power; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the New Haven Board of Alders supports U.S. Congress House Resolution 786 and joins other U.S. city councils in calling for an immediate and permanent ceasefire, the release of all hostages including Palestinians arbitrarily detained by Israel, the unrestricted entry of humanitarian assistance into Gaza, the restoration of electricity, water, food, and medical supplies to Gaza, an end to the siege and blockade of Gaza, and respect for international law by all parties; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the New Haven Board of Alders affirms its commitment to combat anti-Palestinian and anti-Arab racism, anti-semitism, and Islamophobia in all its forms, and to ensure the dignity and safety of all its residents; and

FINALLY, BE IT RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to the offices of: New Haven Mayor Justin Elicker; Connecticut State Representatives Particia Dillon, Toni Edmonds Walker, Robyn Porter, Juan Candelaria, Roland Lemar, Al Paolillo Jr., and Treneé McGee; Connecticut State Senators Gary Holder-Winfield and Martin Looney; Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont; U.S. Representative Rosa DeLauro; U.S. Senators Chris Murphy and Richard Blumenthal; U.S. President Joe Biden; U.S. Vice President Kamala Harris; U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken; and U.S. Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin.